Eleven students graduate from New Vision Program at Adirondack Health

SARANAC LAKE Before family, friends and supporters, 11 area high school students graduated from the New Vision program recently during a packed ceremony held in the RedfieldBoard Room atAdirondackMedicalCenter inSaranacLake.

Graduating from the program were Lake Placid students Ayla Thompson and Natalia Smith;SaranacLakestudents Allie Oehler, Jamaal Tuthill, Nickie Trudeau, Kaytlin Gochenaur and Gabrielle Bevilacqua; and TupperLakestudents Pierson St. Pierre, Tana Morgan, Angelica LaBombard and Stacey Pavlus.

Now in its ninth year of existence at Adirondack Health, the program is an opportunity for high school students to gain a unique perspective into the many careers available in health care by working along side hospital personnel. 

Eleven students who attend high school in the Tri-Lakes region graduated from the New Vision program at Adirondack Health. The Class of 2012 included, Rhonda Meserole (front, left), Social Studies Instructor; Angelica LaBombard, Stacey Pavlus, Tana Morgan, Natalia Smith, Gabrielle Bevilaqua, Alison Riley-Clark, New Vision Instructor; Ayla Thompson (back, left), Jamaal Tuthill, Kaytlin Gochenaur, Nickie Trudeau, Pierson St. Pierre and Allie Oehler.

Following opening remarks from Adirondack Health President & CEOChandlerRalphand Program Instructor Alison Riley-Clark, there was a presentation of graduation certificates and scholarships to the students. 

The Saranac Lake Voluntary Health Association presented $1,000 scholarships to Gabrielle Bevilacqua, Kaytlin Gochenaur, Tana Morgan, Allie Oehler, Natalia Smith, Pierson St. Pierre, Ayla Thompson and Jamaal Tuthill.  The Health Association is over 110 years old, and currently offers a visiting nurse program, covers the cost associated with providing a dental hygienist to the Saranac Lake School District, facilitates care and payment for special medical or dental needs, provides financial assistance for hearing aids, and loans medical equipment to people in need. 

Saranac Lake Voluntary Health Association Board Member Richard (Dick) Kibben presented scholarships to (left to right) Ayla Thompson, Jamaal Tuthill, Tana Morgan, Kayt Gochenaur, Natalie Smith, Pierson St. Pierre, Allie Oehler and Gabrielle Bevilaqua.

The David J. & C. Sue DeSantis Scholarship for $500 was presented by C. Sue DeSantis to Pierson St. Pierre.  A fund was established in recognition of exemplary service by David J. DeSantis and C. Sue DeSantis to the Franklin-Essex-Hamilton BOCES, and tremendous commitment to the students of theNorth Country.  The Scholarship Fund recognizes an outstanding student in the New Vision Program.