2012 St. Regis Canoe Classic – Race Results

2012 St. Regis Canoe Classic – Race Results

 Thirty-three paddlers participated in the St. Regis Canoe Classic held Sunday on the Paul Smith’s College campus with a total of nineteen canoes and kayaks entered in the event. There was plenty of opportunity for winners, with over thirty categories. Those placing in the top three received custom designed coffee cups for their efforts.

Collegiate Race: Paul Smith’s College took both first and second place overall in the C-2 Collegiate division. Leading the way were Ben Jacques and Dylan Kirk of Paul Smith’s College with a time of 1:20:50. Ian Haines and Justin Andrew followed in 1:35:23.

4.7 River Loop Categories: Bianca Fournier, Samantha Vitale, Ellie Congden, and Ashley Evans joined forces the morning of the race to win the C4 women’s class with a time of 1:18:30. In the 2-man guide boat category, Roger and Nancy Dempster of Saranac Lake won in 1:01:08. Mary Kelly (Rensselaer Falls) finished out the class in the K-1 touring division with 59:44.

Racers from the 2011 St Regis Canoe Classic

Touring Kayaks: Jeff Kelly of Port Henry, NY was the top touring kayak and won the 7 mile Kayak-River loop in a time of 1:26:40.

Seven Mile Stock Canoe Race: Gordy Santor teamed with Bruce Kennedy, both of Plattsburgh, NY, to win the C-2 Men’s Stock division in 1:21:10. Close behind was Fred Goodnough of Theresa, NY and Brian Watson of Watertown with a time of 1:25:25.The C-2 Mixed Stock class rounded out the competition with Jim Minnie (Saranac Lake, NY) and Sandy Waters (Albany, NY) finishing in 1:32:19. Racing C-1 stock was Dave Thomas of Watertown, NY who won with a time of 1:28:37.

Eleven Mile Amateur Racing Canoes: The overall winner of the eleven mile course in the K-1 unlimited class was Jim Mallory of W. Henrietta, NY in a time of 1:49:15. Doug Roode (Rochester, NY) followed closely to finish in 2:05:01. Kayaks proved to be a popular racing choice with Anne Brewer of Lake Clear, NY pulling in with a time of 2:54:40 in K-1 women’s touring. There was also some serious competition with the K-1 touring men’s class as Roger Gocking (Saranac Lake, NY) pulled in to lead the class with 1:58:08 on the clock, followed by Rich Furstoss (Mendon, NY) in 1:58:29 and Allen Kelly (Rensselaer Falls, NY) in 2:26:14.

Bruce Lee of Port Crane, NY teamed with Cathy Lipski of Binghamton to win the C-2 Amateur mixed race in 2:01:33. Roger Henry (Rexford, NY) and Alec Davis (Ballston Lake, NY) won the C-2 Amateur Men’s class in 2:01:34. Finally, the C-4 open division was dominated by Jeff Pedersen (Gilbertsville, NY), Dave Hunter (Lake Placid, NY), Jon Santor (Rainbow Lake, NY), and Gene Newman (Canton, NY) in 1:50:09.


A very special thanks to all of our volunteers as they are the heart and soul of the operation- and we could not have done this without them.

No related content found.