Mayors Cup Committee Honoring “The Spirit of Ianelli”

The 37th Annual Mayor’s Cup Regatta and Festival Committee is once again going to honor an individual who exemplifies the Spirit of Ianelli… The Award honors the late Mayor John Ianelli, who was not only a former Mayor of the City of Plattsburgh but also a co-founder of the Mayor’s Cup Regatta in 1973. The “Spirit of Ianelli” Award is bestowed on someone who exemplifies the same “community does matter” spirit that inspired Mayor Ianelli 37 years ago.

Past Honorees include Bob Wallett of Plattsburgh, Roger Harwood of Peru, Matt Spiegel of Plattsburgh and Bob Pooler of Morrisonville…   This year’s Award will be presented by Plattsburgh Mayor Jim Calnon on Saturday, July 12th…  at the Mayor’s Cup awards ceremony at the Naked Turtle..  The Mayor’s Cup Regatta & Festival Committee is currently seeking nominations from the community for the Ianelli Award..  

AUDIO – 052314 – Mayor Cup Committee Seeks Nominations for Spirit of Ianelli Award


To nominate a deserving individual, The committee asks that you forward your nomination no later than July 4th to  Include your name and phone number, as well as, your nominee’s name, address, and phone number, and provide specific examples that illustrate their community spirit and dedication to our great lake.

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.